The Addie Davis Awards

Baptist Women in Ministry established the Addie Davis Awards in 1995 to honor Addie Davis, the first Southern Baptist woman ordained to the gospel ministry. These awards also a way for BWIM to give public recognition to gifted women seminarians. That year and in the years since, BWIM has solicited nominations for the awards from Baptist seminaries, divinity schools, and houses of study. Each theological institution is asked to nominated two women students: one for the Addie Davis Awards for Excellence in Preaching and one for the Addie Davis Award for Outstanding Leadership in Pastoral Ministry.

Crystal and Brenda 2015In 2015, Crystal M. Shepherd (left) and Brenda Kay Hafer received the Addie Davis Award. Crystal received the Addie Davis Award for Outstanding Leadership in Pastoral Ministry, and Brenda received the Addie Davis Award for Excellence in Preaching.

Crystal is a student at Baptist Seminary of Kentucky and will graduate in May 2016. Her professor, G. Wade Rowett, wrote of her: “Crystal has a clear pastoral identity . . . She is comfortable ministering with diverse populations. Her joy and excitement about participating in the healing and growth of others validate her clarity and conviction of calling.”

Brenda is a 2015 graduate of Campbell University Divinity School. Her award winning sermon titled “You, Follow Me” is based on John 21:15-23. Brenda remind us: “The call of Peter to tenderly and lovingly look after those who follow Jesus is paired with the rather grim pronouncement that Peter’s life will not end happily after all. You see, love does not offer security. With love comes responsibility, and it always requires sacrifice. We do not really love Jesus unless we are prepared to face his take and take up his cross.”

The video presentation of the 2015 Addie Davis Awards  is available below:

List of Past Recipients


1998 Kelly Bazemore, Tammy Condrey, Jennifer L. Dundas, Joy Heaton, Jana Stewart Kinnersley, Gloria Jean Ortega, Rachel A. Stephen

1999 Veronice Miles (preaching) and Virginia Dempsey (pastoral leadership)

2000 Kimberly L. Hardegree (preaching) and Ellen Holden DiGiosia (pastoral leadership)

2001 Nikki Finkelstein-Blair (preaching)

2002 Andrea Dellinger Jones (preaching) and Belinda Creighton-Smith (pastoral leadership)

2003 Susan Burnette (preaching) and Shirley Ramsey Luckadoo (pastoral leadership)

2004 LeAnn Gunter (preaching) and Holly Sprink (pastoral leadership)

2005 Martha Kearse (preaching) and Teresa Pugh (pastoral leadership)

2006 Stacy Cochran (preaching) and Debra Anne Carter (pastoral leadership)

2007 Shelley Hasty Woodruff (preaching) and Renee Kenley (pastoral leadership)

2008 Bailey Edwards Nelson (preaching) and Caroline Lawson (pastoral leadership)

2009 Marquette Bugg (preaching) and Tammy Jackson Gill (pastoral leadership)

2010 Karen Hatcher (preaching) and Gwen Brown (pastoral leadership)

2011 Kyndall Rothaus (preaching) and Griselda Escobar (pastoral leadership)

2012 Erin James-Brown (preaching) and Angela Fields (pastoral leadership)

2013 Molly Brummett (preaching) and Heather Mustain (pastoral leadership)

2014 Racquel Gill (preaching) and Erica Evans Whitaker (pastoral leadership)

2015  Brenda Kay Hafer (preaching) and Crystal M. Shepherd (pastoral leadership)